Cat’s Project for Bella – A Verse to Grow Into

Cat has written:

“I would like to make something for a young girl who was given up for adoption, and then lost her adoptive mom to cancer.”

She was facing issues of fitting in, as she noted her skin is not the same color as her parents or siblings (adults). She knows she is adopted. But then her mom died after a brave fight with cancer. In preparation for her death, her mom moved the family to a friendlier place, where she fits into the neighborhood better. So, Bella also misses her home and neighbors.”

I would like there to be a verse she can grow into. Because she comes form a Catholic-Jewish home, I am considering the Old Testament as a possible source. I thought I’d ask my cousin (a minister) and wonder if you have any suggestions.”

Children Footrace DA Blodget Adoption Picnic August 19, 201010 by stevendepolo
Children Footrace DA Blodget Adoption Picnic August 19, 201010, a photo by stevendepolo on Flickr.

When I got the first message from Cat, I was thinking of:

See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are! – 1 John 3:1

which incidentally is my favorite verse.  But that’s not Old Testament.  I’m praying on this, but I wonder if any of you have suggestions?

20 thoughts on “Cat’s Project for Bella – A Verse to Grow Into

  1. OK, just throwing out some ideas…

    What do you think of these:

  2. OK, I shared this need with my friend J and she had several suggestions. One is my favourite so far:

    “Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good!”
    Psalm 34:8

    • “Trust in the Lord, and do good;
      dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness.
      Delight yourself in the Lord,
      and he will give you the desires of your heart.”
      Psalms 37:3-4

    • “Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
      and do not lean on your own understanding.
      In all your ways acknowledge him,
      and he will make straight your paths.”
      Proverbs 3:5-6

  3. Another friend suggested “Trust in him at all times, O people;
    pour out your heart before him;
    God is a refuge for us.”

    Psalm 62:8

  4. And another friend:
    “Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee:for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge:thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God:” Ruth 1:16

  5. Cat writes:

    So, it took about 8,000 years, but. . . . how does this strike you for my little girl? Hebrews 11:1 – Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.

    • A lovely verse!

      Next it is important to decide the size / amount of time for the project. This will drive what kind of image will work. Check out my post on this – I am reposting it for you – and reply to it to move on.

Share your thoughts...

