Praying for Acceptance

I’ve read that one of the purposes of prayer is to open ourselves so that God can change us.  The prayer of acceptance is one way to embrace this.  We cannot always know what is God’s will.  We can ask for change within the pattern of His will.  And we can ask for acceptance of His will.
This is very like the old prayer which runs:

God, grant me the courage to change what I can,
The serenity to accept what I cannot,
And the wisdom to know the difference.

I pray for acceptance within my own heart, but I also pray for it in the hearts of people I do NeedlePrayer pieces for.  Especially, I pray that we not be trapped in bitterness.  I pray that our hearts remain open to healing and comfort.  I pray for a spirit of acceptance and growth and not blame and hatred.  And then I try to open my heart to what is possible and the road forward.

We know that God is not like a genie that will grant our wishes.  We know that His way is not our way.  And sometimes the only path is acceptance.
Morning Prayers by dtcchc
Morning Prayers, a photo by dtcchc on Flickr.
4 thoughts on “Praying for Acceptance

  1. arlene says:

    Prayer is your most intimate conversation with God.

  2. I just wrote a blog a few days ago about Acceptance. We must conform our will to God’s will for us; at least I had to 🙂

Share your thoughts...

