Make all life a preparation…

 

“The man who knows that God is at the end of the road will make all life a preparation to meet his God.”

 

From my morning readings in “The Letters of John and Jude”, Daily Study Bible Series, by William Barclay.

A Lonely Walk to the Ocean by Stuck in Customs
A Lonely Walk to the Ocean, a photo by Stuck in Customs on Flickr.

 

I have no idea what heaven will be like.  But I figure that if I will be with God, I  want to be on comfortable terms with Him.  I know I need to prepare.  It’s easy to let the urgencies of day-to-day living distract from that necessary growing process.

 How can I achieve that?  I believe that I can only do it through prayer.  Ray Stedman titled his book on prayer “Talking with My Father”.  Many other authors I respect teach that prayer is about building a relationship with God.  So I am seeking an intimacy with my Father through prayer!  And there are so many ways to talk to Him.  

But the hardest thing I find is to learn to listen.

 

Share your thoughts...

