Choosing my fabrics!

Once I chose my inspiration photos, I got to choose fabrics from my stash of “fat quarters” (18″x22″ pieces of fabric).  Choosing fabric unnerves me a bit if it involves more than three or four selections.  I’m learning to give myself lots of time. I’m starting to “practice,” by going into my quilt stash and imagining how things could go together.  I sometimes go to the quilt shop just to look around (yeah, sure, just to look around) and let certain fabrics catch my attention each visit.

I’ve visited my fat quarter drawer a few times, each time pulling out a few possible pieces for the Seaside wall hanging.  I put them in a basket so I could look at them a few more times.  Then this week, I chose nine fabrics for Seaside!  I’m letting them stay on the dining room table for a few days, and glancing at them each time I walk by.  I liked what I came up with originally, and as the days go by, I’m still happy.  Oh, and it helps that Carmen saw the picture and said they look good!  On Monday, I get to start cutting!

maggie's fabrics

4 thoughts on “Choosing my fabrics!

  1. Hey, the walk-by test is a great idea! Once things get more orderly around my house I want to have a hanging area for canvasses and threads so I can do that. I can’t leave them on a table because – Bad KITTY!

  2. Sometimes it’s hard to work prayer into the active part of crafting. I wonder if, whenever (or just sometimes when) you walk past the fabrics, you could breathe a prayer?

    • Of course, just thinking of her is a prayer 🙂

    • rhekelley says:

      Great idea–I hadn’t thought of that; I was concentrating on when I am sitting down with the craft. Another thing I’ve done is if I find my mind wandering, I just imagine God’s presence with the person I’m crafting for, and imagine them having the answers to prayers I may have trouble putting into words as I work. So I guess that’s using visuals instead of words in prayer? It does help.

      In his chapter on prayer in “Celebration of Discipline,” Richard Foster suggests we pray about what we would see if our prayers already were answered. For instance, if I am praying for someone who is struggling in marriage, I thank God that they have a strong marriage with lots of love and respect. This is the concept I use when I try to use visuals in prayer, as well as when I can actually word my prayers. I don’t think I’m explaining it very well, so I commend readers to this wonderful book.

Share your thoughts...

