Leap for Joy – Designing the Piece

The first step in designing a canvas is to frame the image as I want it to appear.  This involves pulling in or out until I like how the image works.  If I’m planning words, they must be put in at this stage, so that enough room is left for them.  I also need to evaluate how good the image will look at the intended finished size, and what point size of canvas will be needed to get the desired level of detail.

For this, piece, here is what I ended up with.  My goal was to have this piece weigh in at 5″ x 7″, and be stitched on 10 point canvas.  That will make it a manageable size for the recipient, and allow me to stitch the piece in a timely fashion.

Leap for Joy | Flickr – Photo Sharing!.

Prayer: Father, help them to find joy in the midst of their trials and to trust in the joy to come.

Share your thoughts...

