Here’s your permission…

“… if life has diminished your capacity to dream, here’s your permission to start again.

“Really.”

From my morning readings in “You’re Made for a God-Sized Dream”, by Holley Gerth.

morning meditation 2 by Agata...(exumbra)
morning meditation 2, a photo by Agata…(exumbra) on Flickr.

It’s hard, when you’ve faced trials, to believe that it is safe to keep dreaming.  It’s so easy to slip into despair and fatalism.

But nothing good can come unless we strive for it.  And dreams fuel striving.  So it is very important to step back from whatever is going on, and remember to dream!  Permission to start again?  How about a calling!

2 thoughts on “Here’s your permission…

  1. rhekelley says:

    Sometimes I just need permission to keep things the way they are, to live in the moment–here, now–and not torment myself with all kinds of dreams that are beyond my ability to fulfill them.

    It is so easy to get discouraged because I lapse into unrealism, having hopes and dreams that are out of synch with who I really am, and where I really am in my life. Especially when I’m not content with my life, I can think “if only I could manage this dream of [xxxx], I’d be more content. Today, I want to realize my dream of being content and present with What Is which will eventually allow me to set and pursue realistic dreams and goals).

    I know I may sound like I’m contradicting you or being defeatist, so I hope that I actually conveyed the freedom I feel in the moments I can be “present in the present.” I need both acceptance and dreams in my life!

  2. I agree with you. I don’t think the point of dreams is to keep banging my head against a wall. But if we just curl up at the base of the wall and give in, that’s no good either. I think the dream – to get to the other side of this wall – needs to be part of my life. Then I can start looking for a way around or over.

    But there’s no point in trying to climb over and over and just keeping on falling either. Then I need to start looking for boxes to climb on or other paths. And sometimes I need to take a break from looking and enjoy the wall. It’s cosy to lean against for a while.

    But I never need to stop dreaming.

Share your thoughts...

